Award categories

The Home Care Awards have 16 Expertise categories – which can be entered by providers of all types of care at home in the UK – and 3 Gold awards for Overall Achievement, with a fourth Gold presented by Home Care Insight to the Outstanding Individual in Home Care

The Awards set out to recognise and reward business success in home care. For clarity the term “home care” covers care at home, domiciliary care, live-in care, supported or assisted living, palliative or end of life care, dementia care and other forms of care that take place at a client’s or patient’s home.

Expertise categories
(awarded to home care providers)

A. Respite care expertise (including shared care expertise)

B. Specialist care expertise (excluding mental health and dementia care)

C. Mental health and dementia care expertise

D. Nursing care expertise

E. Day care expertise

F. Live-in care expertise

G. Palliative / end-of-life care expertise

H. Innovative technology expertise

I. Marketing expertise (including advertising, social media, marketing and PR competences)

J. Nutrition and hydration expertise

K. Recruitment, retention and  staff motivation expertise – sponsored by Residential & Home Care Show

L. Training and development expertise – sponsored by the Care Show

M. Response to the Coronavirus pandemic (Covid-19) – sponsored by Autumna

N. Team support expertise (head office or behind-the-scenes support)

O. Team support expertise (staff wellbeing, personal development, mental health effects, personal communication, career guidance, etc)

P. Best start-up home care service or new franchisee (operations must have commenced in the two years up to the closing date for entries)


Gold Awards for Outstanding Achievement

Q. The Home Care Insight Award for the Outstanding Individual in Home Care
(This Award is in the gift of Home Care Insight and will be decided by the editorial team based on coverage in the publication, both on- and offline)

The winner of the following top award is chosen by the judges as “best in show”. To be eligible for these Gold categories contenders must have entered one or more of the Expertise categories, though it is expected that the winner will have demonstrated competence, innovation and expertise across more than one category. The Gold winners may not have won a category outright, but they will have provided evidence of the breadth of their service and competence and have been highly placed across two or three categories.

R. Most Outstanding Independent Home Care Provider

S. Most Outstanding Regional Home Care Group

T. Most Outstanding National Home Care Group or Franchise Network – sponsored by Domus Recruitment

Deadline for entries: November 30

Time is always precious and sometimes writing an awards entry is one of those jobs put off until the last moment. For a helping hand to write your awards entries contact:

Please note that Boost Awards is not only the first and largest company expert in preparing Awards submissions, but is also completely independent. There is no financial relationship between the Home Care Awards and Boost and the advice you receive is confidential.

Headline sponsor


Download the 2022 Winners Book